4th February 2023
  • 9:11 pm Through the Eyes of Ides Ofune – Women Shouldn’t Have to Choose Between Motherhood and Higher Education
  • 11:32 am Meet the 2022 shortlisted authors for the AKO Caine Prize for African Writing.
  • 5:13 am 6 African startups among World Economic Forum’s Technology Pioneers 2022 cohort
  • 1:01 pm Canadian Based NGO GoldenKes Foundation holds First Empowerment Program in Nigeria 
  • 5:38 am Meet the 6 Africans shortlisted for 2022 Commonwealth Short Story Prize
  • 7:49 am Facebook invests in fibre optic cables to improve internet access in Edo State

The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2021 ceremony was held for the sixth time on January 17, 2022. The award ceremony which honours the most outstanding members of football was held in a hybrid fashion (both virtual and in person) due to Covid-19 restrictions.

Some of the Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2021 categories include Best Goalkeeper (Male), Best Player (Male), Best Coach (Male), Best Goalkeeper (Female), Best Player (Female) and Best Coach (Female). Keep reading to see the complete list of awardees.

  Winners in the Women’s Category. 

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Emma Hayes

The Best Women’s Player of the Year: Alexia Putellas

The Best Women’s Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler

The women’s special award: Christine Sinclair

FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11

 Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain/Olympique Lyonnais)

  Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea FC Women), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City WFC), Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea FC Women) and Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais)

   Midfielders: Estefanía Banini (Levante UD/Atlético de Madrid Femenino), Barbara Bonansea (Juventus FC Women) and Carli Lloyd (NJ/NY Gotham FC)

   Forwards: Marta (Orlando Pride), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal WFC) and Alex Morgan (Tottenham Hotspur FC Women/Orlando Pride/San Diego Wave FC)

Winners in the Men’s Category.

The Best Men’s Coach: Thomas Tuchel

The Best Men’s Player of the Year: Robert Lewandowski

Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper: Édouard Mendy

The Puskas Award: Eric Lamela.  According to FIFA, The FIFA Puskás Award is given to ‘the player judged to have scored the most aesthetically significant goal, regardless of championship, gender or nationality and scored without the result of luck or a mistake and in support of fair play.’

The Men special award: Cristiano Ronaldo

FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11

 Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan/Paris Saint-Germain).

    Defenders: David Alaba (FC Bayern München/Real Madrid CF), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus FC) and Rúben Dias (Manchester City FC)

    Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City FC), Jorginho (Chelsea FC) and N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea FC)        

    Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus FC/Manchester United FC), Erling Haaland (BV Borussia 09 Dortmund), Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern München) and Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain)

Other Categories

The FIFA Fair Play Award: Denmark National team/Danish medical team and staff 

The Best FIFA Fan Award: The Denmark and Finland fans

You can catch the replay on television or watch the Best FIFA awards 2021 on YouTube.

Ruth Torty

Ruth Torty is a biochemist, and freelance science writer. She writes to shed light on health issues, rare diseases and science research in Nigeria. She is also a creative writer and has published on different literary sites including Spillwords and Nnoko Stories. She is passionate about genomics and its role in healthcare.